Register Form

    Please fill up the form below:


    To champion the Fianna Fáil values of republicanism, progressivism and liberal democracy amongst the UCD community, and foster the social development of our members enabling them to become Ireland’s next generation of leaders.



    Many former members of the KBC hold high profile roles in public office, media and industry, and remain supporters of our Cumann today. Notable KBC alumni include:

    – Current Minister for Agriculture & the Marine Charlie McConalogue

    – Senior Counsel Jim O’Callaghan TD

    – Senator Malcolm Byrne

    – RTÉ broadcaster Miriam O’Callaghan

    – RTÉ broadcaster Ryan Tubridy

    – Emmy award winning actor & comedian Chris O’Dowd

    – Iar-Thaoiseach Brian Cowen

    – Iar-Thánaiste Mary Coughlan

    – Former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Justice and MEP Gerard Collins

    – Former EU Commissioner Charlie McCreevey



    Kevin Barry Cumann – UCD’s Fianna Fáil Society – was established in 1957. The Cumann’s patron, Kevin Barry, was an 18 year old UCD medical student who was captured, tortured and hanged on 1 November 1920 by British Crown forces for his involvement in the cause for Irish freedom. Prior to 1957, his legacy inspired a generation of activism in Dublin universities which manifested itself in the foundation of a cross-party political society – also known as the Kevin Barry Cumann. This history has informed the culture of pluralism and political engagement which flourishes in the KBC today. The KBC is the UCD branch of Ógra Fianna Fáil – an all-Ireland, progressive, republican political movement and the youth wing of Fianna Fáil.



    Activism – The KBC, as a branch of Fianna Fáil, strives to effect progressive legislative change through informing innovative and liberal policy reform which represents young people’s interests across Ireland.


    Networking – KBC offers the chance to collaborate with Government ministers and members of the Oireachtas as well as other leaders across Irish society, laying the foundation for future professional relationships post-graduation.

    Social – The KBC offers opportunities to develop relationships with students spanning all courses within UCD, as well as members of Ógra cumainn across the island. In addition the KBC holds regular social nights and trips abroad suitable for a student budget!



    – Kevin Barry Commemoration in honour our patron’s life and cause, the unveiling of a permanent dedication, and establishment of an annual Kevin Barry Memorial Lecture in Glasnevin Cemetery.

    – Women in Politics – To highlight and celebrate the contribution of female leaders to Irish society with an inaugural Annual Lecture and Award.

    – Host frequent debates and interviews with leading figures in Irish politics – North and South.

    – Various KBC social events including our annual Hot Whiskey Night, Trad night, UCD Mock Dáil, KBC Charity Table Quiz and many more…

    KBC OFFICER BOARD 2021/2022




    2022-2023 Aaron Galligan

    2021-2022 Cillian Keane

    2020-2021 James Long
    2019-2020 Rory Hogan
    2018-2019 James Mulholland
    2017-2018 Ryan O’Meara
    2016-2017 Cormac Tighe
    2015-2016 Mark Holt
    2014-2015 Eden McLoughlin
    2013-2014 Greg Moroney

    2012-2013 Daragh Bollard
    2011-2012 John Regan
    2010-2011 Ciaran Murphy
    2009-2010 Patrick Conroy
    2008-2009 Conor King
    2007-2008 Brian Doyle
    2006-2007 James Carroll
    2005-2006 Peter Doris
    2004-2005 Niamh Mulholland
    2003-2004 Greg O’Neill
    2002-2003 Cathal Lee
    2001-2002 Róisín Tierney-Crowe
    2000-2001 Gearóid O’Connor
    1999-2000 Michael Shovlin
    1998-1999 Éamonn O Lionnáin
    1997-1998 Charles McConalogue
    1996-1997 Liam Dockery
    1995-1996 Michael Smith
    1994-1995 Lisa McDonald
    1993-1994 Tiernan Brady
    1992-1993 John Menton
    1991-1992 Liam Kelly

    1990-1991 David Harmon
    1989-1990 Timmy Dooley
    1988-1989 Graham Hanlon
    1987-1988 Garret Breen
    1986-1987 Jeremy Doyle
    1985-1986 Fergal O’Rourke
    1984-1985 Joseph Barnes
    1983-1984 Conor Lenihan

    1982-1983 Torlach Denihan
    1981-1982 Michael O’Connor
    1980-1981 Daithí O Lionsigh
    1979-1980 Anne Gaffey
    1978-1979 Cian O Tighearnaigh
    1977-1978 Rory Fanning
    1976-1977 Mark Shakespeare
    1975-1976 Gearóid O Caoimh
    1974-1975 Gerald Caulfield
    1973-1974 Robert Laird
    1972-1973 Declan Cooney
    1971-1972 Joseph Geoghan
    1970-1971 Hugh O’Donnell
    1969-1970 Cathal Brugha
    1968-1969 James Shannon
    1967-1968 Gerard White
    1966-1967 Desmond Houlihan
    1965-1966 Edward Lalor
    1964-1965 Gerard Collins
    1963-1964 Gordon Colleary
    1962-1963 John Rochford
    1957-1962 Gerard Collins